Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Irene Bustamante Adams Chosen As Democratic Assembly Leader

CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) — Nevada Assembly Democrats have elected new leaders after their top-ranking lawmaker finished her final session.

The caucus chose Las Vegas Assemblywoman Irene Bustamante Adams as chairwoman on Tuesday. Bustamante Adams was elected in 2010 and served as chair of the Hispanic Legislative Caucus during the 2015 legislative session.

Reno Assemblywoman Teresa Benitez-Thompson was elected vice-chair.

Sponsor Message

Other members elected to leadership roles include assemblywomen Maggie Carlton, Olivia Diaz and Dina Neal, as well as Assemblyman Mike Sprinkle.

Democrats are seeking to regain control of the Assembly after heavy losses in the 2014 election cycle.

The leadership vote comes as Assembly Minority Leader Marilyn Kirkpatrick is barred from seeking re-election due to term limits.